Customer reviews for Sterilite 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket

Sterilite 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket

The 1¼ Bushel Ultra™ HipHold Laundry Basket is designed with a contoured shape that rests comfortably against the hip for ease in transporting clothes to and from the laundry room. The basket also offers comfortable handles and durable construction.
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
10 out of 15(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Review 1 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

many uses

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Allaskew
from Salem, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Organization:Laundry
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this basket. I use it for more than just laundry. I use them for sorting my material for sewing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

These are awesome baskets!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
sandyhud
from New Braunfels, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Organization:Closet
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have maybe 6 of these baskets......I do a lot of laundry! They are big enough, but not too heavy once filled. The round on one side lets me hold it against my hip comfortably. Durability would also have gotten a 5 if the colored part of the handle didn't occasionally come off. In any case, if I needed a new basket, this is what I would purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Carol Zilic
from Naperville, Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Organization:Basement
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sturdy , can hold large loads without bending, lasts a long time, canny be used for purposes other than laundry-like carrying Christmas presents to another household, food to another part of the home for a party, etc.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for use in the car to make only one trip into the house

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Jackie
from Kent, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Organization:Basement
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm disabled and making many trips up and down stairs with bags from the stores can be quite painful. I just put all my purchases in the basket and make one (or maybe two) trips. Also, it works well when shopping the stores that want you to bring your own bags. :-) And of course, IT'S MADE IN AMERICA!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great concept, but won't last!

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Calmum_momma
from Caledonia, New York
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the feel of the HipHold style basket! A great fit for the way I naturally carry laundry. Unfortunately, the handles crack, rendering the basket practically impossible to use. Don't waste your money!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Looks great,but thats not what counts.

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Gary Carlton
from Kernersville, North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Organization:Bedroom
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Usefulness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the first few times using this product it was great. Stayed on my hip like it is designed to. Then after a couple months the handle inserts break. Leading to the actual handle itself collapsing and breaking when using it. Need to make more durable handles. No plastic inserts. Solid handles.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
TI
from Lakeview, New York
Age:35-44
Organization:Basement
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This basket is so easy to use. We all multi task. Carrying a basket on our hip and carry something else in our other hand. This basket makes carrying on your hip comfortable . This is so easy to use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Contours to your body

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Good Value
from Allentown, Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Organization:Basement
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usefulness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I think the shape/design makes this laundry basket perfect for holding it on your hip while walking around. It also has nice handles for gripping.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

use in vehicle to keep shopping bags upright

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer avatar
mom
from West Warwick, Rhode Island
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great for holding store bought shopping bags with either groceries or retail items. Keeps them from falling over in my van & are easily brought into the house using the basket.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST laundry basket ever made!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Nina
from Denver, Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Organization:Kitchen
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is THE BEST laundry basket I have ever had! I have owned 2 (blue & white) of them for several years and have decided they are the only kind I will ever buy again. These baskets are durable and very comfortable to carry. The only thing is that it has been difficult to fine one in another color. i want another one for organizing & sorting the laundry.
I don't understand how anyone could give a negative review on this product. Perhaps those folks have been too hard on their baskets. Every other kind of basket I've had has broken, but not this kind! Thank YOU Steralite for creating such a great product. Please make more colors...
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very poor quality - not worth spending money on.

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
LaundryLady
from W Haven, Connecticut
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Usefulness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought three of these baskets because of the hip-carrying design. Within a couple of months ALL of the handles are broken off! I have baskets made by another company that I've used for years and they are in perfect condition. I will not be buying Sterilite baskets in the future due to the poor quality of the product. I will use them for sorting laundry to avoid their sitting in a land-fill for years, but can no longer carry laundry in them. Too bad - they look nice and have a good asthetic design.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Severe quality Issues

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
RJvdK
from Santa Clara, California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Usefulness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We had always used Sterilite Laundry baskets in the past - our last one lasted about 10 years - finally had to replace it this year - 2011 - and so purchased the 1.25 hiphold model - well the first one lasted 2 weeks before the first handle cracked - and after about 4 months - all handles had cracked or come off. Thinking that it was a one-off quality issue - purchased a new one - turns out it was no one off - after six month - again all the handles have cracked and completely broke off - I tape them with DuctTape when they first crack but even that does not prevent further damage. Seems like the qualitiy of the plastic has changed over the years - or is thinner... There are only 2 of us and we don't have that much launder - so do not believe we are over filling it. If the handles were Better this would be a good product - but with the current handle configuration - I would not recomment this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disaapointed in this product. Have had the laundry basket for less then 6 months. All handles have cracked and broken off.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great basket!

PostedApril 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Amanda
from Fall River, Massachusetts
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This basket is great especially if you have to carry your clothes up stairs. The contoured shape is perfect to rest on your hip.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy to use

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Pmcg
from Amherst, New Hampshire
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hip basket makes going down two flights of stairs so much easier because it leaves one hand free. It is also the sturdiest basket I have ever owned. The handles don't dig into your hands either. A great buy for the price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Nestleton Station ON
Not worth buying
Posted October 5, 2012
I bought four of these baskets and all the handles broke off. As long as there is no weight, like clothing, they are great. Pretty to look at, failes misserably when put to the test.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)