Customer reviews for Sterilite 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket

Sterilite 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket

The 1¼ Bushel Ultra™ HipHold Laundry Basket is designed with a contoured shape that rests comfortably against the hip for ease in transporting clothes to and from the laundry room. The basket also offers comfortable handles and durable construction.
Overall rating:
3.88 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
18 out of 25(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Review 1 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Handles Break Easily

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Handler
from Mendon, Massachusetts
I have purchased 4 of these baskets in the past year. I use them to carry wet laundry out to a clothesline. I like the design but the handles have broken on all 4 of the baskets. Duct tape makes them last longer but eventually all the handles break. I would not recommend this product for carrying wet laundry.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is very useful

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Customer avatar
chelle4tsc
from SW, Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Organization:Garage
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this laundry basket for its intended purpose and so many others. I use it to hold overflow when I am sorting through piles of things or to manage my little one's toys if needed. My little one used to use it for entertainment while I did housework (ex: load things in the basket then push it around the room; flip it and play peek-a-boo; collect items off the floor to help clean up, etc.)
I have had this basket for years and really love it. It was a Christmas gift (filled with lots of cleaning products). When I am looking for gifts for newlyweds or someone living on their own for the first time this laundry basket is the first item I buy to give.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Convenient

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer avatar
oceangodzilla
from Lvrpool, New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Organization:Garage
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the college dorm and lugging to the laundry area and back... very convenient
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and Great

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
breathespink
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Organization:Kitchen
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had my laundry baskets for five years now, including them going on three interstate moves, so they are definitely built to last! I was lucky enough to get them in pink, and the curve of them against my hip makes carrying the baskets from room to room with laundry much easier than a rectangular laundry basket.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Up To The Job

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Very Disappointed
from Mesquite, Texas
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Usefulness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A laundry basket, to me, should be a receptacle I can depend on to withstand a daily schedule of lugging a heavy load of wet laundry out to the washing line and back in again when its dry. I had a great (non-Sterilite) basket which lasted me over 7 years, sadly replaced earlier this year by a Sterilite model which lasted about three weeks before cracking at the handle. Then I picked this model, which has lasted just over a month - firstly the grey handles popped off, then the flimsy molded handles underneath ripped through, and now it is cracking down it's side. Tomorrow it will be discarded. See also my review for the dish pans which suffered a similar fate. What does it matter if the item looks nice? Function over form is critical here - and Sterilite has failed big time in understanding that even an average load of wet laundry is heavy.... which will pull on the structure of the basket....which will distort and break it. Not worth the money.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the HipHold

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
H0llyD0lly
from W Henrietta, New York
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This gets used all the time in my house for laundry. It has withstood the wear and tear well, even in the white color I have. I like the HipHold curve in the side; makes it easy to carry with one hand.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

use it for anything!

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
hillary
from Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this laundry basket -- particularly the lima bean shape, which makes it much easier to carry. It has so many uses beyond holding dirty laundry. I recently moved across town, and used a few of these baskets to help load up my car. I also keep one under the bed with miscellaneous items that I want to store out of the way but be able to access easily. The one thing I would change is making the handles wrap around to the underside of the rim, with a softer material. I noticed that when carrying a heavy load, the plastic was cutting into my fingers. But overall, I would highly recommend this product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes laundry so much easier

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Snookey
from Clearwater, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Organization:Living Room
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The design of this basket is perfect! The hip-hold feature frees up your hand for carrying other needed items--I've had mine for years--looks new-
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

is a good basket

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Angela Smith
from Meridian, Mississippi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Organization:Bedroom
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i have had my basket for about 10 years and i love it. the only thing i don't like is that after a lil while one of the handle grips came off. but other than that a VERY durable basket
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NEVER forget great customer support

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
waypastprime
from Carver, Massachusetts
Age:45-54
Gender:male
User submitted photo
Bought 6 or 8 of these, and yes the handles were an issue... BUT, it was due to installation at the retailer. The handles if improperly installed will fail quite quickly. I called a wonderfully responsive Sterlite customer service department, and not only did they quickly and happily send out handles, but they also sent out the instructions (easy as can be) to correctly install the handles. 3 years later.... no issues. NONE!
The problem is the 8 dollar an hour kid putting the handles on at the store. If yours failed, call Sterlite and you will be a believer in their product and determination for great customer service. I am.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

many uses

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Allaskew
from Salem, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Organization:Laundry
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this basket. I use it for more than just laundry. I use them for sorting my material for sewing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

These are awesome baskets!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
sandyhud
from New Braunfels, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Organization:Closet
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have maybe 6 of these baskets......I do a lot of laundry! They are big enough, but not too heavy once filled. The round on one side lets me hold it against my hip comfortably. Durability would also have gotten a 5 if the colored part of the handle didn't occasionally come off. In any case, if I needed a new basket, this is what I would purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Carol Zilic
from Naperville, Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Organization:Basement
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sturdy , can hold large loads without bending, lasts a long time, canny be used for purposes other than laundry-like carrying Christmas presents to another household, food to another part of the home for a party, etc.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for use in the car to make only one trip into the house

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Jackie
from Kent, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Organization:Basement
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm disabled and making many trips up and down stairs with bags from the stores can be quite painful. I just put all my purchases in the basket and make one (or maybe two) trips. Also, it works well when shopping the stores that want you to bring your own bags. :-) And of course, IT'S MADE IN AMERICA!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great concept, but won't last!

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Calmum_momma
from Caledonia, New York
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the feel of the HipHold style basket! A great fit for the way I naturally carry laundry. Unfortunately, the handles crack, rendering the basket practically impossible to use. Don't waste your money!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Looks great,but thats not what counts.

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Gary Carlton
from Kernersville, North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Organization:Bedroom
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Usefulness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the first few times using this product it was great. Stayed on my hip like it is designed to. Then after a couple months the handle inserts break. Leading to the actual handle itself collapsing and breaking when using it. Need to make more durable handles. No plastic inserts. Solid handles.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
TI
from Lakeview, New York
Age:35-44
Organization:Basement
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This basket is so easy to use. We all multi task. Carrying a basket on our hip and carry something else in our other hand. This basket makes carrying on your hip comfortable . This is so easy to use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Contours to your body

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Good Value
from Allentown, Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Organization:Basement
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usefulness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I think the shape/design makes this laundry basket perfect for holding it on your hip while walking around. It also has nice handles for gripping.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

use in vehicle to keep shopping bags upright

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer avatar
mom
from West Warwick, Rhode Island
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great for holding store bought shopping bags with either groceries or retail items. Keeps them from falling over in my van & are easily brought into the house using the basket.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 1 Bushel Ultra HipHold Laundry Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST laundry basket ever made!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Nina
from Denver, Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Organization:Kitchen
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is THE BEST laundry basket I have ever had! I have owned 2 (blue & white) of them for several years and have decided they are the only kind I will ever buy again. These baskets are durable and very comfortable to carry. The only thing is that it has been difficult to fine one in another color. i want another one for organizing & sorting the laundry.
I don't understand how anyone could give a negative review on this product. Perhaps those folks have been too hard on their baskets. Every other kind of basket I've had has broken, but not this kind! Thank YOU Steralite for creating such a great product. Please make more colors...
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>