Customer reviews for Sterilite 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box

Sterilite 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box

The Ultra Latch Storage Box line is ideal for those customers who want the ability to quickly identify contents yet need a durable storage solution. The innovative latch design secures the lid to the base, providing a rugged and comfortable grip surface, while keeping items safely stored inside. The recessed lids allow same size storage boxes to stack neatly on top of each other to use vertical storage space efficiently. The 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box is ideal size for storing bedding, seasonal clothing, sporting gear, and other bulky items, to keep basements, garages, and attics organized. The overall assembled dimensions for this item are 26 1/8" x 16 1/4" x 13 1/2".
Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews for 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box
Review 1 for 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I've used these for more than 20 years.

PostedNovember 21, 2017
Customer avatar
from Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Organization:Garage
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I first moved out of my parents house, more than 20 years ago, I like everyone else started with cardboard boxes and miss-matched plastic bins. I went through a few iterations of brands and bin sizes before I found this 70qt at a local store. Over the years I've gotten rid of any other storage container I have and replaced them all with these. I've purchased over 100 of these bins and they have moved across the country and to multiple houses. Both the older design with the bubble on top and the flat top design stack well and don't shift around while transporting them stacked. I went with these for all of my storage needs because I found that fully loaded with metal, or cables, etc I could still manage to get enough leverage on one to pick it up and I could stack them as high as I could reach. The tops can take about 5 more heavy bins worth of weight on top of them before they start to buckle noticeably. If I really need to stack something higher I usually put an extra lid on the bottom bin. I've never had a bin fail on its own under load, however I have had them break because they were dropped off a truck, or rolled down stairs fully loaded. I'm sure Sterilite does not recommend this, but I've also used them to stand on for various jobs, to hold up props, to barricade windows for a hurricane, and as a saw horse. I think every review should have some negatives listed so If I could change anything I'd go back to the old lids with the bubble. They weren't clear, which I really like from the new ones at some retailers, but they could take a little more weight and that extra bubble of space was often needed. As I've aged I've needed to stop carrying really heaving loads, so I've started dividing up some of my 70qt bins into the smaller 30qt and 18qt ones. I love the smaller ones just as much and they have brought much organization to my life.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak latches that snap off!

PostedJuly 27, 2016
Customer avatar
from berwyn, Illinois
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Usefulness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The storage box is quite useful but unfortunately the latches are surprisingly fragile. One would think that the latch hinges would be sturdy enough to withstand carrying the boxes or stacking them but they snap off and break instead. The worst thing is that you cannot buy the latches separately and the only alternative is to buy a new storage box since they come attached to the box and not the lid.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for storage!

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Customer avatar
from Bel Air, Maryland
Gender:female
Organization:Basement
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these storage boxes and use them to store all of my holiday decorations. I have several for each holiday, but the most for all of my Christmas goodies! They hold oodles of stuff and you can see what is in each box. Makes it easy to locate that "one" item that you are looking for! They stack nicely, so they take up less room. I use many of the other sizes for many different types of storage too!
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much room!

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Customer avatar
from Menifee, California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Organization:Garage
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this storage box. We are starting a non profit and collecting clothes for children. This storage box has helped with keeping the clothes neat and organized, instead of keeping them in ugly black trash bags. Plus we use them at home for storing holiday items too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

BEWARE - New Lids are a big DOWNGRADE

PostedJune 24, 2015
Customer avatar
from Saratoga Spgs, New York
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Usefulness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sterilite changed from a solid white lid to a new translucent grey or clear one. These bins were great prior to these redesigned cheap, flimsy lids The bins used to stack great and not slide around during transport, now they fall over or slide apart plus when stacking heavy bins even 3 high high the new lids will collapse or snap. You can even see it in the stores, at Target you will see numerous cracked lids on their shelves. Do not buy this with the clear lid. Sterilite needs to go back to the old lid and offer replacements to its customers. These bins are too expensive for this poor quality lid.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Steve1958
Dallas, Texas
 
Please wait while more information about Steve1958 is loaded.
Additional information about Steve1958 could not be loaded.
Poor Lids
Posted September 11, 2017
The "new" lids are very poor quality. They must be much cheaper to make. I never had one of the former lids crack, but have had many of these re-designed (cheaper) lids crack and break. I wish they had just charged a little more. I know many would still by them.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

rad

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
from Cedar Falls, Washington
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have been using these to organize our warehouse, purchasing, and prototyping. The Bins are solid and stout. the latch handles seem to be well thought out and preform well. the bins stack and nest very nicely. I wish they were a little more square so that I could utilize the space a little more fully, but these are solid bins.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the size.

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own over 100 of these 70 quart containers. I have purchased them over many years. I just bought 10 more of them. I use them to hold all of my Christmas decorations and ornaments. I have collected Hallmark ornaments since 1974,
so I have over 1,000 ornaments. In the last fifteen years or so, I have begun using them for other holidays--Easter, Halloween, Thanksgiving, Valentine's Day. and St. Patrick's Day. I stack them on shelving units five high. They are wonderful because use can see inside them. I use post-it notes to label what is inside of the containers. They are the perfect size. They do not get too heavy because the are not huge. They are easy to carry up and down the stairs. These are the only containers I have ever purchased. Please do not ever discontinue manufacturing them.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great durabilty and snaps easy

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from Silver Spgs, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Organization:Garage
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
we have a tee shirt business, and have 26 of your crates. we fill each crate to the top.. we stack your crates 4 high, and they are put in a trailer, were we take then to our shows. after 8 years of abuse, they are our still in good shape. thank you sterilite for a great product, dave
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 70 Quart Ultra Storage Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great all around tub!

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Customer avatar
from Kent, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Organization:Basement
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usefulness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a sturdy, see through, large tub to hold my baby wood ducks after they hatch. This one worked GREAT! I needed something very large, sturdy, see through, with a good top, secure latches, and was easy to clean. I was able to cut a hole in the top large enough to let air in and it was sturdy enough for me to attach chicken wire so the little guys wouldn't escape. The height was great because they jump and with this tub they don't hit their heads! It's easy to scrub clean and when the babies move outside, this tub is big enough to hold all the lights, feeders, and other things I need to store until next time. It's a great all round tub for my unique need.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Patrick
Chattanooga, TN
 
Please wait while more information about Patrick is loaded.
Additional information about Patrick could not be loaded.
Great Bin :-) Horrible Lid :-(
Posted September 19, 2014
ALERT! All 5* reviews above are BEFORE Sterilite changed from the solid lid to this new translucent one in the past year. The bins are super good. I've used and abused around 100 of them in the past 8 years. They can be broken, but like I say, they are getting abused. For normal usage they are excellent.
That being said, this redesigned cheap, flimsy, easily breakable lid makes this bin a non starter except in the most light use cases. Try stacking anything heavy 3 or 4 bins high and these new lids will collapse or snap very easily. About 1/3 of the ones I've bought this year were broken from Target already. I have ran out of backup old lids for now.
This product goes from a 5* to a 2* IMO. Do not buy this with the clear lid or you'll probably regret it. If you can get any with the original durable solid color lid, then you will probably love this product. All JMO.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)